8th Grade

WELCOME TO 8th GRADE! You’re now the alpha wolves on campus!
The eighth grade team is excited to have your students in our pack this year.


Important 2021-2022 dates:

Wednesday, April 6: FSA ELA Writing
Tuesday, April 19 – Friday, April 22: District Exams
Wednesday, May 4 – Thursday, May 5: FSA ELA Reading
Wednesday, May 11 – Thursday, May 12: FSA Math
Monday, May 16: 8th grade Science Assessment
Wednesday, May 18 – Thursday, May 19: Algebra and Geometry EOC
Friday, May 20: Gradventure Universal Trip
Tuesday, May 24: Biology EOC and Physical Science Exam
Wednesday, May 25: 8th grade Dance


Schoology – We will be using Schoology for assignments, calendars, communication, and other useful information for students. We encourage parents to access Schoology using the username/password that you child uses. This will help you see class events and upcoming assignments.

Retaking Summative Assessments – Students who wish to retake a summative assessment will need to speak to their teacher to get their remediation work and schedule the retest.

Year-at-a-Glance Pacing Guides – The Year-at-a-Glance is a document that informs parents and students of the recommended pacing and content standards for selected courses. It includes the topics to be taught week by week each quarter and a list of instructional resources. The Year-at-a-Glance is only a recommended pacing guide; school leaders and teachers make the final decision regarding the pacing of any program of study. The classroom teacher is always the best source of information regarding content and pacing. The Year-at-a-Glance is supplied as a model of one recommended path to the completion of a course.

Florida Standards Student Tutorials – New resources and features have been added to www.FloridaStudents.org.  The number of resources and tutorials is impressive. Be sure to check it out.

PTO 8th Grade Text Messages– If you would like to sign up for the 8th grade text messages, please text “@lpaeighth” to (904) 201-8112. You can opt-out of messages at anytime by replying “unsubscribe @lpaeighth”.

Summative Assessments – Students will not be taking home any tests this year from their classes. Tests will be reviewed with students in class and parents can make arrangements with individual teachers to review a particular test at school.