Battle of the Books

Battle  2019-2020  Sunshine State Young Reader’s Award Titles 

 The Sunshine State Young Readers Award (SSYRA) book list is developed each year utilizing input from experienced committees of media specialists from throughout Florida.  The books on this list may not be appropriate for all students. Some books may include main characters navigating mature teen and/or adult situations. Stories represent various genres, formats, reading levels, viewpoints, and ethnic/cultural perspectives, while exploring sensitive issues. Therefore, it is imperative that concerned parents/guardians play an active role in their child’s reading selection by previewing the titles to ensure an enriching and exciting reading experience.

The SSYRA books are used for our Battle of the Books (BotB). Battle of the Books is a school and district-based competition used to promote the love of reading amongst students and encourage students to read widely from the list of Sunshine State Young Reader books. At FCMS, we have three battles.  Each battle includes five of the fifteen SSYRA titles. (If there are five members on a team, each member has to read one book!) The questions asked at each battle are about the details of the five different stories. All of the answers to the questions are the titles of the five books. The team accumulating the most points from all three battles will be our winner and will represent FCMS at the SJCSD Middle School Battle of the Books January 30, 2020.

Students do not have to participate in Battle of the Books to read the SSYRA books. Please preview the attached annotated list of this year’s books.